Skip to Main Content

Coordinating Committee

 

Coordinating Committee Members

Governance of the program in Gender and Women’s Studies is vested in an interdisciplinary Coordinating Committee consisting of faculty, associate staff, and students, under the general supervision of the Director of Gender and Women’s Studies.

 

Faculty

Rebecca Adelman, Assistant Professor, Media & Communication Studies
adelman@umbc.edu

Jessica Berman, Professor, English and Director, Dresher Center for the Humanities
jberman@umbc.edu

Amy Bhatt, Assistant Professor, Gender and Women’s Studies
abhatt@umbc.edu

Beverly Bickel, Clinical Associate Professor, Language, Literacy and Culture Doctoral Program
bickel@umbc.edu

Dawn Biehler, Associate Professor, Geography and Environmental Systems
dbiehler@umbc.edu

Kathy Bryan, Senior Lecturer, American Studies
kbryan@umbc.edu

Gloria Chuku, Professor, Africana Studies
chuku@umbc.edu

Kate Drabinski, Senior Lecturer, Gender and Women’s Studies, and Director of WILL
drabinsk@umbc.edu

Nicole Else-Quest, Assistant Professor, Psychology
nmeq@umbc.edu

Amy Froide, Associate Professor, History
froide@umbc.edu

Marjoleine Kars, Associate Professor, History, and Chair of History
kars@umbc.edu

Viviana MacManus, Assistant Professor, Gender and Women’s Studies
macmanus@umbc.edu

Christine Mair, Assistant Professor, Sociology
christine_mair@umbc.edu

Christine Mallinson, Associate Professor, Language, Literacy and Culture Doctoral Program
mallinson@umbc.edu

Carole McCann, Professor and Chair, Gender and Women’s Studies
mccann@umbc.edu

Susan McCully, Senior Lecturer, Theatre
mccully@umbc.edu

Susan McDonough, Associate Professor, History
mcdonoug@umbc.edu

Eileen O’Brien, Affiliate Assistant Professor/Senior Lecturer, Psychology
eobrien@umbc.edu

Timothy Phin, Lecturer, Ancient Studies
tphin@umbc.edu

Michelle Scott, Associate Professor, History
mscott@umbc.edu

James Smalls, Professor, Visual Arts
smalls@umbc.edu

Dena Smith, Assistant Professor, Sociology
dtsmith@umbc.edu

Orianne Smith, Associate Professor, English, and Chair, English
osmith@umbc.edu

Constantine Vaporis, Professor, History, and Director, Asian Studies
vaporis@umbc.edu

Lisa Pace Vetter, Assistant Professor, Political Science
lvetter@umbc.edu

Brandy Harris Wallace, Assistant Professor, Sociology
bhwalla@umbc.edu

Shelly Wiechelt, Associate Professor, Social Work
wiechelt@umbc.edu

 

Ex-Officio Member

Jess Myers, Director,  Women’s Center
jess.myers@umbc.edu