COVID-19 (Coronavirus)
UMBC is open. The physical campus is closed, but courses are now online and employees are working remotely.
Skip to Main Content

Coordinating Committee

Governance of the program in Gender, Women’s, + Sexuality Studies is vested in an interdisciplinary Coordinating Committee consisting of faculty and associate staff under the general supervision of the Department Chair of Gender, Women’s, + Sexuality Studies. Applications for new Coordinating Committee members are solicited every fall semester. If you’re interested in being a future member of the Coordinating Committee, please email Elle Everhart at eaever@umbc.edu for more information.

Current members of the GWST Coordinating Committee are:

Faculty

Rebecca Adelman, Associate Professor, Media & Communication Studies
adelman@umbc.edu

Jessica Berman, Professor, English and Director, Dresher Center for the Humanities
jberman@umbc.edu

Amy Bhatt, Associate Professor, Gender, Women’s, + Sexuality Studies
abhatt@umbc.edu

Beverly Bickel, Clinical Associate Professor, Language, Literacy and Culture Doctoral Program
bickel@umbc.edu

Dawn Biehler, Associate Professor, Geography and Environmental Systems
dbiehler@umbc.edu

María Célleri, Assistant Professor, Gender, Women’s, + Sexuality Studies
mcelleri@umbc.edu

Gloria Chuku, Professor and Chair, Africana Studies
chuku@umbc.edu

Kate Drabinski, Senior Lecturer, Gender, Women’s, + Sexuality Studies, and Director of WILL+
drabinsk@umbc.edu

Keegan Finberg, Assistant Professor, English
kfinberg@umbc.edu

Amy Froide, Professor and Chair, History
froide@umbc.edu

Lindsay Johnson, Lecturer, Music
lmjohnson@umbc.edu

Marjoleine Kars, Associate Professor, History
kars@umbc.edu

Katie Kein, Visiting Lecturer, Gender, Women’s, + Sexuality Studies
kkein@umbc.edu

Christine Mair, Associate Professor, Sociology
christine_mair@umbc.edu

Christine Mallinson, Professor, Language, Literacy and Culture Doctoral Program
mallinson@umbc.edu

Carole McCann, Professor and Chair, Gender, Women’s, + Sexuality Studies
mccann@umbc.edu

Susan McDonough, Associate Professor, History
mcdonoug@umbc.edu

Liz Patton, Assistant Professor, Media and Communication Studies
epatton@umbc.edu

Michelle Scott, Associate Professor, History
mscott@umbc.edu

Mejdulene Shomali, Assistant Professor, Gender, Women’s, + Sexuality Studies
mshomali@umbc.edu

Orianne Smith, Associate Professor, English
osmith@umbc.edu

Sharon Tran, Assistant Professor, English
stran@umbc.edu

Lisa Pace Vetter, Associate Professor, Political Science
lvetter@umbc.edu

Brandy Harris Wallace, Associate Professor, Sociology
bhwalla@umbc.edu

Ex-Officio Member

Jess Myers, Director, Women’s Center
jess.myers@umbc.edu